[NEWS] TaeYang: “I Want to Become a Musician Who Can Move People’s Hearts Like Michael Jackson”

1 12 2009

What’s it like to have your comeback after a year and 5 months?
▲ It’s been a while so it’s really nerve-racking.

What type of song is ‘Wedding Dress’?
▲ A R&B song. It’s a sad song about watching the girl you love in a wedding dress, getting married to someone else. Teddy hyung has written lots of tracks, but I really liked this one so I pestered him to give it to me. (laughs)

-I heard you helped compose ‘Wedding Dress’?
▲Teddy hyung made the track, I just put in the melody. I had been thinking of composing a little for a while now because if you contribute to the composition of the song, it helps you understand what type of voice and tone sound good with it. Teddy hyung suggested it so I took the opportunity.

-How did it feel to contribute to the composition?
▲It was like getting someone else’s sketch and colouring it in the way I wanted to. It took a lot longer than just recording my voice to a song that had already been finished by someone else. I think this was because I tried lots of different things, like when you’re colouring in.

-What kind of advice did Teddy give you?
▲He said that when I make the melody, I have to make it portray lots of different feelings so that whoever listens to it doesn’t get bored. Aside from receiving advice, just watching him do his work was a huge help to me. He’s the person who’s influenced my life the most this year.

How did he influence you specifically?
▲Before we started promoting in Japan, I spent just about every day with Teddy hyung. We weren’t very busy at the time, so, after practice I would go straight to Teddy hyung’s studio. I would watch him do his work and in his spare time we would talk about music. This is how ‘Wedding Dress’ and ‘Where U At’ were made. I even slept in the studio, in this little bed that Teddy hyung regularly uses. Now that I think about it, I was probably disturbing him quite a lot. Sorry. (laughs)

-The Taeyang in ‘Only Look at Me’ was a bad boy, and in ‘Wedding Dress’ a pure one. What’s the real Taeyang like?
▲‘Wedding Dress’ is more like the real me. I’ve loved before, but it’s always ended as one-sided love.

-Do you want to date?
▲Yes. President Yang keeps telling me to please get a girlfriend now too. But although I get lonely when I’m not working, I don’t think about it much when I’m really busy.

Don’t you get lonely when you’re busy? It must be stressful.
▲When I get stressed, I just sleep. I’m the type of person who’s always thinking so I just sleep when I’m stressed, otherwise I tend to overthink everything. Alternatively, I listen to music or spend time with my dog. I get a lot less lonely when I’m with my dog.

-How important is Boss to Taeyang?
▲Very important. He’s not just a pet dog. At the moment, I can’t meet people and exchange love and friendship so Boss tends to fill up those holes in my heart. I can love him no matter what and he will always look only at me. If I didn’t have Boss, I think my personality would have become really cold and harsh.

You seem to have put a lot of effort into your choreography. What is dancing to TaeYang?
▲I dance because I like music. To me, music and dancing are one. Neither one of them is more or less important. Whenever I do a pre-recorded performance, I ask my fans to please be quiet. It seems selfish and I’m sorry to my fans, but I just love singing and dancing to my music on stage and I want to concentrate on that moment.
There was this time when we did a surprise broadcast of ‘Where U At’ and during the pre-recorded filming, my fans didn’t make a sound. It made me wonder if they were even breathing. I was so thankful that they understood me, but also very sorry.

-Your first solo album ‘Hot’ did so well. Does this pressure you at all? What did you earn from your last solo activities?
▲I didn’t feel pressured because of ‘Hot’, but because this new album will be a full album, I kept thinking that I have to show my style as well as make music that fits the time we’re in. I like classical music, but I’m young so I can’t just ignore the current trends.
When I’m working as a solo artist, I feel so much more accomplishment and satisfaction. Since Big Bang is a group, working together with the other members always comes first.

-What if the type of music you want to do clashes with the type of music that’s popular with the people?
▲What I want to do usually comes first. (laughs) President Yang is always generous about that kind of thing because he knows that I do the best when I’m doing what I want to. But that doesn’t mean I want to be stubborn in my musicianship. My dream is to make music that everyone can listen to and love. It’s very hard, though.

-What you want from yourself?
▲Well, my name’s Taeyang so I always want to be overflowing with energy. I want people to be moved and comforted when listening to my music and I also want to become more passionate.

-To your fans that have waited for you, and will continue to wait?
▲I’m sorry that I don’t have a really talkative personality and that I’m not performing on stage much. But I will return your love by making great music worth the wait. Oh, and be careful not to catch swine flu.

 

Source: 구름둥둥 @ BBFlow
Translations: sjay.x @ BBVIP.net


Actions

Information

14 responses

1 12 2009
kojack kisosi

HE SEEMS LIKE A COOL PERSON …:O…
i used to judge him based on his apperance ..never again… now i might actually listen to his music:)

1 12 2009
jinxypopx

i absolutely looooovvveeee him!

6 12 2009
M3ly

Taeyang… You great…

7 12 2009
Toy(laos)

Taeyang i love you. I’m lao people . I want to you reply to me. Or you call to me 856209638511 ok

8 12 2009
Anonymous

love taeyang very much from toy

9 12 2009
toy

taeyang i miss you very much. Are you came to laos? Reply to me please! Thank you

9 12 2009
Daki.Chann

Swine Flu. LAWLZ. xD

I never realised he was so … human O^O Like, I always thought of him as a singer and that’s it. But wow … so deep >_>

10 12 2009
lovley

^_^

14 12 2009
toy

your picture very smart . Toy love taeyang

14 12 2009
Sophie

Taeyang is always so professional and sweet. He’s such a good guy. LOL, I’ll keep you company babe, also I love dogs. So Boss and me will get along great ;D

16 12 2009
01xb4byy

*melts*
He sure moves my heart… ❤

17 12 2009
toy

i will love taeyang forever

1 01 2010
toy

happy new year 2010 bigbang. Miss you taeyang

17 02 2010
toy

i want talk to taeyang…love you ja.

Leave a comment